Glee Report: Prom Queen

Ok, I’d like to apologize for the missed episode last week, but I just couldn’t find the motivation to get it done. After “Born This Way”, which was one of the best episodes of the season, “Rumours” was bitterly disappointing. Unfortunately “Prom Queen” was equally as unfulfilling for me. It definitely had it’s moments, but as a whole I feel it’s yet another episode that could be used as an example of poorly thought out writing from Team Glee.

The episode starts with Figgins hiring the New Directions to perform at their own prom.  This ultimately brings up issues for Mercedes because she has no date. Rachel has a rare moment of human kindness and concocts a plan for a three-way date (not that dirty) with Sam.

In another bit of prom drama, Kurt asks Blaine to the prom – bringing up past issues for Blaine. Yet, Kurt naively thinks things are going to be fine and there won’t be repercussions to a gay couple at a high school prom. But we’ll get to that later.

One of my favorite scenes from the episode was the “sacred inner-sanctum that is the prom gown dry-run”. Some great moments for Kurt, Lauren and Santana (“Go with God, Satan- I mean Santana” 🙂 hahaha) This scene leads into the concept of the protective detail on Kurt by the Bully Whips.  This leads to yet more phenomenal Santana gems and a really nice moment between Kurt and Karofsky as he breaks down for a moment and truly apologizes to Kurt.

One of the more annoying sub-plots was Artie trying to win back Brittany. His song to Brittany was just awful; his scene with Sue was damn awful! Can we just toss Artie off the top of a high building already? He is quite possibly the most annoying character on television at present.

Speaking of annoying, lets talk Rachel’s love life. I remember loving Jesse as a character – and while his entrance in the episode was stunning, I found myself (several times throughout the episode) wanting to strangle him with that stupid little scarf.  The four-way date between Jesse, Rachel, Sam and Mercedes was so uncomfortable. Fin just annoys me at all times so naturally the Fin jealousy thing was ridiculous and Rachel’s longing looks at Fin during her prom performance had me gagging a little.

Ok, I guess it’s time to broach the Rebecca Black issue. Why did you do this to me Glee? Why? I am slightly at a loss for words that this truly terrible song could be performed on Glee without some joke or tongue-in-cheek attitude behind it. All I can say is that it wasn’t nearly as bad as the original.

The little moment between Sam and Mercedes during Rachel’s “Jar of Hearts” performance made me smile, but I really hope they don’t end up as a couple.

I actually felt a little bad for Quinn and her whole Prom Queen aspirations. It seemed really shallow but because it’s more about her clinging to the moment that will never really happen I felt a twinge of pity.

Well the King and Queen were announced and it was…Dave Karofsky and…Kurt Hummel. Yup, they went there. It was a lot irritating that they made the moment about all the Prom Queen applicants instead of just Kurt. But when he overcame it and took the stage with a triumphant “Eat your heart out Kate Middleton” it was just fantastic.

The final moments of the episode were very sweet and well done. Now onto the music, here are my ratings:

  • Rolling in the Deep: A
  • Isn’t She Lovely: F
  •  Friday: D
  • Jar of Hearts: C
  • I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You: B
  • Dancing Queen: B

So what were your thoughts on “Prom Queen”? Leave a comment or talk to me @CDWB on Twitter.

COLT.

~ by CDWB on May 12, 2011.

Leave a comment