My 10 Best Films of 2011

So here are my picks for best films of 2011. Now these are the films I enjoyed most and not the films that were necessarily the best critically.  So here we go.

10. Final Destination 5

The Final Destination films are up there as some of my guiltiest pleasures. After the truly terrible fourth film which had little to no redeeming qualities, I was incredibly sceptical of this film. However, the film was thrilling, shocking and hilariously entertaining.

9. Kung Fu Panda 2

The first Kung Fu Panda film is one of my favourite animated films ever. The second instalment doesn’t quite live up to first film – partly due to a change of director and subsequently the tone of the film – but it is still fantastic in it’s own right.

8. The Help

I am obsessed with Emma Stone and I’ll admit that was the only reason I was interested in this film. However, after seeing the first trailer I was interested in it for it’s heart felt yet amusing tone. The film had me sobbing several times and is sure to drum up plenty of awards buzz.

7. Scream 4

The first Scream film in years was like putting on that most comfortable of hoodies that you haven’t worn in a long time. It has everything that made the first three wonderful, and it is so rewarding to see the old gang back together again, and the traditional reveal of who is behind the Ghost-face mask twist ending is equally rewarding.

6. Super 8

J.J. Abrams is my idol; he has the career I hope to have in ten years. He has a very distinctive style to the films and television he directs and writes. And his stamp is definitely all over Super 8 – most notably the lens flares, which show up in his Star Trek adaptation and his television work with Fringe. With the added guidance of Steven Spielberg the film is a huge sci-fi hit.

5. Jane Eyre

Being a huge fan of the novel the film is adapted from I was very excited about the latest in a long line of adaptations. The film captures the hopeless feeling and stunning imagery of the novel and boasts an outstanding cast lead by Alice in Wonderland star Mia Wasikowska, Dame Judi Dench, and the standout star of 2011 Michael Fassbender.

4. Rio

The most underrated animated film of the year is a colourful collage of birdlife dancing and singing in Brazil. The Hollywood Foreign Press overlooked the film, but I sincerely hope that come the Academy Awards that mistake is rectified.

3. Friends With Benefits

I had absolutely no expectations going into this film, only the promise of an Emma Stone cameo and the direction of Easy A (my best film of last year) director Will Gluck. However, the film is absolutely hysterical adult fun and Justin Timberlake is becoming a surprisingly good acting force.

2. X-Men: First Class

After the debacles that were X-Men The Last Stand and X-Men Origins Wolverine there were many fans who had lost their lustre for the X-Men films series. However, after the director of the first two films Bryan Singer re-joined as producer and Kick Ass director Matthew Vaughn joined as director, hopes were higher. Copious film-series continuity errors aside the film was a huge triumph.

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

The final instalment in the decade long film series was moving, exciting and magnificently made was easily the most anticipated and enjoyable this year – not to mention it’s the highest grossing film of the year.

 

So there we go, my favourite films this year. Bear in mind I have not seen most of the films released in November and December.

For a look at all the films from this year take a look at Cinema 2011 by the incredibly talented Kees Van Dijkhuizen.

Feel free to let me know what your favourite films were in the comments or let me know @CDWB on Twitter.

~ by CDWB on December 22, 2011.

2 Responses to “My 10 Best Films of 2011”

  1. FD5 was good… surprisingly. Especially after the disaster of FD4

  2. Can’t wait to see the help. I actually don’t know why I haven’t seen it yet, but a very good list of films!

    I’m a little surprised that Harry Potter grabbed top spot, but each to their own;)

Leave a Reply

 
