Glee Report: Born This Way

In true inconsistent form, Glee has recovered from the last week’s painfully average episode. This week’s episode was funny and moving and the musical numbers were mostly top grade and to make things even better it was an extra long episode. Even with the extra time, it was one of those rare episodes that you wish would never end.

The episode was themed around – as the title suggests – Lady Gaga’s smash hit “Born This Way”. I am a Gaga fan through and through so I could not wait for this episode.

To start the story ball rolling we have the New Directions having a dance practice session, which results in the ever-bumbling Fin breaking the very Jewish nose of Rachel. This leads to a dodgy doctor (who performs plastic surgery on his own children!!) suggesting Rachel get some ‘vanity surgery’.

Cue the discussion on self-esteem issues, lead by Santana. I just need to say that Santana is quite possibly my favourite character on this show right now; she has all the biting words of Sue Sylvester and Lauren Zizes combined and Naya Rivera is the hottest actress on the show. I could go on and on about Santana, but so much happened in this episode I’ll just have to move on. So Santana points out some obvious flaws from Sam’s ‘trouty mouth’ to Fin’s “weird puffy pyramid nipples” (hahahaha :)) in a hilarious fashion. And don’t lie and say you found it offensive, you were all smiling; I on the other hand was laughing myself to tears.

Naturally Will get’s on his high horse and is somehow shocked that teenagers have insecurities.  He airs these thoughts to Emma over some neatly polished grapes, and she inadvertently gives him the inspiration for the week. GAGA!

As mentioned I worship the moments Santana in on screen and her little realization that Karofsky is gay was fantastic. From the inner monologue, to the wildly entertaining scene in the coffee shop (“The only straight I am is straight up bitch” :)), to being responsible for the return of Kurt to McKinley; Santana rocked the foundations of the Glee universe this week.

Now, as much as I’d like to think the episode revolved around Santana alone, that is not the case. We also bore witness to a brutal battle over the Prom Queen crown that gave Miss Zizes another chance to shine and revealed that Quinn was not always so beautiful.

Speaking on Quinn’s beauty, Rachel’s entire story was yet more envy over Quinn. It did lead to some wonderful musical numbers including the moving mash up ‘Unpretty/I Feel Pretty’ and the Barbra-vention flash mob of Duck Sauce’s ‘Barbra Streisand’.

I am not, nor have I ever been, a fan of Finn. He’s a bumbling buffoon, looks constantly awkward and his voice is frankly irritating to me. So while his number with Mike was entertaining enough, it didn’t blow my hair back the way some of the other numbers did.

I’ve briefly mentioned Karofsky, but I think he needs to be elaborated on. He’s flourished into an interesting character. Yes, he was pretty much blackmailed into change; but I actually believe that he has turned a new leaf. Oh and the little montage of slushies was so funny.

“Kurt Hummel is back at McKinley!” That’s right people; feel free to celebrate at inappropriately high volumes 😉 It was great to see Kurt back in the choir room performing his best ballad. This means, for now, we say goodbye to the Warblers. I’m not too upset by that, especially because we’ll be seeing Blaine again soon I’m sure, and he’s the only warbler who really matters.

Emma has been a favourite of mine since the first episode, and I love that her OCD is being given the attention it deserves. It’s been treated like just a joke for so long. And even though I thought Will was a little bit scary when he was trying to forced blueberries down Emma’s throat, I thought her scene at the therapist was so wonderfully moving.

The t-shirts for the ‘Born This Way’ performance were so amazing, as was the performance in general. It just made me smile; the song really was made for Glee. And, of course, the little moment of Santana in the audience wearing the ‘Lebanese’ shirt was great.

With that, onto the music. Here are my ratings:

  • Unpretty/I Feel Pretty: A
  • I Gotta Be Me: C
  • Somewhere Only We Know: B
  • As If We Never Said Goodbye: B
  • Barbra Streisand: A
  • Born This Way: A

So what were your thoughts on “Born This Way”? Leave a comment or talk to me @CDWB on Twitter.

~ by CDWB on April 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
